1.12.16: Digital Advertising Trend

Article 1 Link: http://www.marketingcharts.com/online/us-online-ad-spending-maintained-its-rapid-growth-rate-in-q3-2016-73365/

This has really fallen off the rails. It’s been several days since I wrote a blog post and I was starting to feel guilty. Gawd there’s been a lot going on this week as I prep for the fiscal quarter from hell, so that’s my excuse.

During my Marketing Strategy class this past weekend, the professor brought up that online advertising doesn’t work and advertisers are spending less and less money on it due to its lack of effectiveness. My ears perked up because that is total horse shit! I raised my hand to comment, really in protest, on how online advertising has seen significant growth over the past decade on a consistent basis year-over-year, but even before I finished my point he cut me off saying that… what was it? Oh yeah… “Your assumption is incorrect.” I decided to let it go cause it was a losing battle, but not without immediately finding the latest article on advertising trends in the digital space. I posted it on our MBA Facebook page for all the students to see that this guy just didn’t know what he was talking about.

Clearly, online advertising has seen incredible growth in the past few years. The article reads, “Online ad spending has now achieved double-digit growth in 26 consecutive quarters going back to Q1 2010 (9% growth).” A huge chunk of the growth is from Google and Facebook as they’ve continued to optimize their advertising services. Digital advertising in general is cheaper and more effective at targeting specific consumers based on information they’ve opted to provide. And it’s measurable in ways that TV or other media just cannot rival. The professor was trying to argue that online advertising is cheap because it’s just not working, and so ad spend has just dropped as advertisers have “come to their senses.” Hog-wash.

I look forward to hearing more from this guy. I’m sure he’ll be the subject of a few of my blog posts during the semester.

Article 2 Link: http://www.investopedia.com/articles/forex/09/factors-drive-american-dollar.asp?lgl=bt1tn-no-textnote

Leave a Reply

